Red Velvet Rice Krispies – A Quick, Easy Last Minute Valentine’s Treat!

A festive spin on an old classic.

Yes, I know, two posts in one day. What can I say? I’m on a roll.

Being a baker while at school is difficult. I SHOULD be spending my time studying and working, but I just can’t help but bake! Sometimes, though, I have no choice but to spend the majority of my time focusing on my studies, this is where this awesome recipe comes in.

As everyone and their mothers (hopefully) know, tomorrow is Valentine’s day. As mentioned in my  last post, it is tough to get baking done for a holiday mid week. Whether you are working, studying, or busy being a mom, there are other more pressing things to deal with besides baking.

For those of us who have had no time up until the last minute to bake ,this recipe is perfect. It takes less than twenty minutes, start to finish, to produce these delicious creations. They are simple and quick to make, yet unique, delicious, and not so horrible for your waist line (or at least that is what I like to tell myself! :P).

So if you STILL don’t have anything made for tomorrow, or if you want to munch on some yummy snacks to get through the pain of tomorrow (I don’t judge!),  run to the supermarket really quick and make yourself a batch!

Adapted VERY slightly from Foodbeast

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 (10.5 ounce) bag mini marshmallows
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup red velvet cake mix (you can decrease to 1/4 for milder flavor, or increase to 3/4 for more cake flavor)
  • 6 cups Cocoa Rice Krispies cereal
  • Chocolate Candy Coating or Chocolate Chips (The original calls for vanilla candy coating or white chocolate chips, but I have always been a chocolate kind of gal 🙂 )

1. Line a 9×13-inch pan with parchment paper and coat well with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. In a large saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. Add marshmallows, cake mix, and vanilla, stirring until smooth. Fold in the cereal until well coated.

3. Transfer sticky cereal mixture to the prepared pan, pressing down until the top is level.

4. Once cooled, drizzle with melted candy coating or chocolate top. Once set, cut into bars and serve.

***Some tips!***

Don’t press down too much on your treats; doing this will make them harder.

Also, use a new bag of mini marshmallows. Previous opened packages often affect the overall outcome of rice krispie treats.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. savor the sweet life
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 01:15:50

    This is a great idea…what a fun way to make rice-krispy treats festive!

    Reply

  2. Muna
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 03:02:30

    This is so very clever! I am going to have to try this! I think my college age daughter would love these!! Thanks for sharing this!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

