Chocolate Chip Coffee Muffins= Love!

Your whole breakfast in a muffin!

I’ve never been a humongous fan of Valentine’s day; I just don’t understand the purpose. I care for Nicholas every most days, so why does there need to be a day special day to declare my love? I have always thought that this holiday was just a simple ploy by Hallmark and Florists nationwide to boost their economies :P.

Even though I am not a fan, Valentine’s day is a great opportunity for me to do some baking! Being that this year is on a Tuesday, it makes it difficult for me (and many others) to prepare something special. Nick has classes and labs all day, other people work. This is why I believe this muffin is PERFECT for Valentine’s day: it is a great grab-and-go breakfast for your significant other (or just for yourself…I don’t judge!).

For those that do not know me, I HATE waking up in the morning. In fact, I wake up as LATE as I possibly can before class just to get an extra ten or fifteen minutes of shut eye. This leaves me barely enough time to eat breakfast; usually I find myself eating a cereal bar (on a good day!).

Not only does this muffin provide a filling, quick, on-the-go breakfast, but it also contains one of the best morning beverages: coffee. Nick LOVED these muffins! The taste of coffee is definitely there, but not too powerful. And just when you start noticing the coffee flavor, you get a nice taste of chocolate. Chocolate AND coffee in a muffin…does it get any better?! Being that there is only 1/2 cup of chocolate chips in the recipe, the chocolate is not overwhelming, but rather the perfect amount for you to devour in the morning without feeling guilty!

This recipe is slightly modified from Myrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup skim milk (the original calls for whole…it doesn’t matter what type you use, I just like to save on calories when possible!)
  • 5 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons instant coffee granules
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 9 ounces all-purpose flour (about 2 cups)
  • 2/3 cup sugar plus 3 teaspoons sugar (to be used later)
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Cooking spray
  1. 1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. 2. Combine first 5 ingredients.
  3. 3. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, 2/3 cup sugar, the chocolate chips, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl; stir well with a whisk. Make a well in center of flour mixture. Add milk mixture to flour mixture; stir just until moist.
  4. 4. Spoon batter into 12 muffin cups coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle each muffin with 1/4 tsp sugar; this gives it a nice, crisp exterior while adding some sweetness :).  Bake at 400° for 13 minutes or until done. Remove muffins from pan immediately; place on a wire rack
Leave a Reply

