Cheesecake Brownies

I love the swirls!

Nick left for Italy today at 5:30, and I know this may sound tacky but I feel as though a part of me left with him. In a bid to keep my mind off of my emotional distress (and in an attempt to remain sane), I volunteered to bake for my father’s holiday party.

My dad is a distributor for Tastykake. Friends have always thought that this was an awesome job that came with a closet full of Krimpets and mini donuts, etc. The reality is I usually only have a box of mini donuts and if I am lucky some Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars.  So no, I am not special :P.

Since about 90% of my daily communication with human beings consists of conversing with Nicholas, I needed to get myself distracted. I decided to go all out for this holiday get together: two new recipes in one night. I’ll upload the other one tomorrow morning! 🙂

This recipe is a simple way to spice up your same-old brownies. It gives your typical brownie a tangy, rich, and velvety taste. In other words, if brownies and cheesecakes hooked up and had a baby, this would be the delicious result.

The recipe is from Taste of home and is as follows:

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup baking cocoa
  • 1 package (8 ounces) reduced-fat cream cheese

Directions

  • Separate two eggs, putting each white in a separate bowl (discard yolks or save for another use); set aside. In a small bowl, beat butter and 3/4 cup sugar until crumbly. Beat in the whole egg, one egg white and vanilla until well combined. Combine flour and cocoa; gradually add to egg mixture until blended. Pour into a 9-in. square baking pan coated with cooking spray; set aside.
  • In a small bowl, beat cream cheese and remaining sugar until smooth. Beat in the second egg white. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls over the batter; cut through batter with a knife to swirl.
  • Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes or until set and edges pull away from sides of pan. Cool on a wire rack. Yield: 1 dozen.
Leave a Reply

