Baked Chocolate Donuts (or Doughnuts?) and I’m Home!

Looking at this picture makes me salivate.

I am home! I have finished my last few hellish weeks of the semester. I don’t mean to brag, but, I GOT STRAIGHT A’s! There is only one way to celebrate this accomplishment…baking!

All of my stress hasn’t gone away, however. My NickyPoo is going to Italy for TEN DAYS. Not only am I SUPER jealous, but it is stressful knowing that I will not be able to speak with him. There IS something that I can do to make the time pass by (and I bet you all can guess what!). Essentially I am planning on baking (almost) every day that I am home; I hope that by the end of this break my family will not hate me for their weight gain!

There are times when I experience INTENSE cravings. And of course these cravings aren’t for healthy things such as fruits or vegetables. My  cravings always include chocolate. This past week, finals week, I have been hardcore craving chocolate glazed donuts. Nick and I walked to Dunkin Donuts on a Saturday night to fulfill my cravings and THEY HAD NO DONUTS. Dunkin Donuts without any donuts is like McDonalds without any hamburgers. I was PISSED to say the least.

I eventually was able to get a donut on campus, but my cravings still haven’t disappeared! Donuts are not the healthiest treat, yet baking them certainly cuts a lot of the calories. In order to make these goodies you will need to splurge and buy a donut pan (I got mine for around nine dollars).

For these donuts alone it was worth purchasing the pan. They are moist, chocolatey, soft and DELICIOUS. It is a nice change-up from the every-day cookies, brownies, and muffins. You can also add a variety of glazes (I tried one and it did not turn out well, so I am still on the hunt for the perfect glaze. I will keep ya posted!).

This recipe is from SquirrelBakes:

Donuts:
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp butter, chilled
1/4 cup whole milk ( I used 2% since I did not have whole milk on hand)
1/4 cup plain yogurt (I only had low-fat plain yogurt and it turned out fine!)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg, beaten

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease donut pan, if you don’t have one use a muffin pan or mini-bundt pan.
  2.  In a large bowl combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar; whisk till completely mixed. Using a pastry cutter or two forks cut the butter into the dry mixture till a course texture is formed.
  3.  In a small saucepan heat milk till simmering, set aside. In a medium bowl combine egg, yogurt, vanilla, and warmed milk; mix till incorporated. All at once add wet mixture into the dry ingredients and blend just until incorporated, do not over mix.
  4. Spoon mixture into donut pan and bake for 8-10 minutes or until a toothpick entered in center of a donut comes out clean. Remove and let cool in pan for 5 minutes; flip pan over and let donuts cool completely on metal rack.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 23:15:52

    Congrats! I miss being in education and getting straight As… oh well 😦 These donuts look yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

