Cinnamon Scones and Procrastination

I love baking in my parent's purdy kitchen! 🙂

I am SO happy to be home and surrounded by the people (and canines) that I love.

There are other perks of being home, however. One is being able to get my eyebrows done for a reasonable price. Another  is having the opportunity to bake with a standard sized oven. Even though I am grateful to have a kitchen at school, it is SUCH a pain to attempt to make cookies (or scones in this case) on half sheets. So when I am home I try to take advantage of the appliances around me.

I brought home A TON of work to get done over the break, the major assignment being an 8-10 page paper. As of right now, I have three sentences written. It is so hard staying focused when being around family. And being able to relax. And the due date not being tomorrow. I will procrastinate for now, but I guarantee that later this week I will be freaking out and scrambling to get this work done!

How am I supposed to work when I can hang out with these cuties??

Today I decided to attempt to make a recipe from The Pioneer Woman’s website. I stumbled across this recipe a while back, but unfortunately stores were not carrying an ingredient: Cinnamon chips. Apparently they are only around through the holiday season. After making this recipe I am STOCKING UP so I can make these delicious scones all year long.

I have never made scone’s before, and I was extremely pleased with this recipe. It was simple, quick, and did  not require many ingredients. The results were great: they had the perfect amount of cinnamon and were not too sweet (but still satisfied my sweet tooth teeth).

Ingredients and Directions are from The Pioneer Woman.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1/3 cup Sugar
  • 5 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 2 sticks (1 Cup) Unsalted Butter
  • 3/4 cups Heavy Cream
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 cup Cinnamon Chips
  • Topping
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon Heavy Cream*
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, 1/3 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, and baking powder. Cut butter into pieces, then cut into dry ingredients with a pastry cutter** until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in cinnamon chips.
  3. Mix together cream, egg, and vanilla extract. Pour into flour/butter mixture, stirring gently with a fork to combine.
  4. Turn onto work surface (mixture will be very crumbly and falling apart.) Gently press together on the sides as you flatten (or roll, with a rolling pin) the top. Form either into a large circle or a large rectangle. Mix together topping ingredients, stirring with a fork. Sprinkle over the top of the dough, lightly pressing.
  5. Cut into wedges (from a circle) or triangles (from a rectangle.) Transfer to a cookie sheet and bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Allow to cool completely. Serve with coffee.

* I did not have heavy cream on hand, but I found a great substitution here!

**I do not have a pastry cutter (I am a poor college student after all) so I used my hands. Although this was a bit messy, It got the job done!

Leave a Reply

