Oreo Stuffed Chocolate and Mint Chip Cookies AND Homebound!

I LOVE the Holiday Edition Oreos!!

I have been waiting so long for this day to come! I’ve been patiently counting down the days, the number of classes, and the number of large assignments until I could finally go home. I have only been home once (unfortunately for a sad reason) this semester and I have been looking forward to a mental break.

I miss my family and my puppies (I affectionately call them my babies) and I can not wait to spend an entire week with them, although I will miss my Nicky-Poo terribly!

Anyone who follows baking blogs has probably heard of the AMAZING Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies. They are absolutely epic. Nicholas LOVES those things. They have even received several requests for birthdays. Since Christmas is a little more than a month away, I decided to get a head start on my holiday cookie baking, and make these bad boys. They are AMAZING: chocolatey, soft, gooey, and with the refreshing (but not overwhelming) taste of mint. It is a wonderful mixture of  rich chocolate and mint.

I brought a TON of them to the lab with me and all I had was one left! I decided to be a “Teacher’s Pet” and I gave it away to my teacher :P.

ANYWAYS, here is the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup margarine
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon mint extract
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup andes mint chips
  • Oreos
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a cookie sheet.
  2. Cream until light and fluffy: margarine, sugar, eggs, vanilla extract, and mint extract.
  3. Combine in separate bowl: flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.3
  4. Gradually beat the dry mixture into the creamed mixture.
  5. Stir in semi sweet and mint chips. At this point I would recommend refridgerating the batter for AT LEAST a few hours…the longer the better. The dough by itself is really hard to manipulate.
  6. Scoop the dough with a tablespoon and roll into a ball. Place one ball on top of an oreo, and another one below the oreo. Press down on the dough, making it completely surround the oreo. Make sure none of the oreo shows and that it is completely enclosed.
  7. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

