Triple Layer Brownies (With a funny inappropriate name)

Triple Layer Brownies AKA Orgasm Brownies

I know this post is coming a bit late, I will try to avoid this as much as possible in the future. The last couple of days have been very hectic: Yesterday Nicholas was sick (still is), and I babysat all night. Today was Penn State’s final home game of the season! We lost, but we put up an amazing fight.

However, I promise you, with the quality of today’s post it was worth the minor delay. I am not exaggerating when I say that this is my absolute favorite baked good of all time. If you have a sweet tooth (or sweet teeth like me) this will definitely become one of your favorite go-to recipes. Because of its overwhelmingly satisfying taste, it has been dubbed (rather inappropriately) the “orgasm brownie”.

It’s technical name is the triple layer brownie: three distinct layers loaded with unique flavors that all come together to form a rich, sweet, and decadent creation.

The first layer is the brownie; you can use whichever recipe you desire! Don’t have a lot of time? Use a box mix (I won’t tell anyone!). Personally when I have the time, I prefer to make my creations from scratch. I have listed my (current) favorite brownie recipe below with the ingredients.

The second layer is the vanilla frosting. I have a somewhat shocking confession to make: I am not a fan of frosting. I know that this is a direct contradiction to prior claims that I have a set of sweet teeth, but I find that store bought icings are WAY too sweet. However, I have found the perfect solution: homemade vanilla icing. It is quick and easy to make. Most importantly, it is not overly sweet. It would also be great for other recipes such as cupcakes.

The final layer (and my favorite layer) is the chocolate covered rice krispies. This adds a nice crunch and decadence to the brownies. It also adds an amazing quality to the overall texture.

Brownie Ingredients (The one I used is from Allrecipes) I made a few alterations:

  • 1 cup melted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. Combine the melted butter, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each, until thoroughly blended.
  3. Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, and salt. Gradually stir the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture until blended. Stir in the chocolate morsels. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking dish.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until an inserted toothpick comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Remove, and cool pan on wire rack.
Next is the hardest part; waiting for the brownies to fully cool. I waited approximately one hour. You then need to make the frosting, which is also a recipe from Allrecipes. I made an alteration with these ingredients as well:
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 4 cups confectioners sugar
  1. In a large bowl, combine sugar, shortening, water and vanilla. Beat on low speed to combine, then beat on medium speed for a full five minutes. It won’t look like Icing at first, but keep the mixer going for a full five minutes, and then you’re done!
  2. Spread the icing evenly over the COOLED brownies
Last comes the chocolate rice krispies layer.
Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips (I’m sure you could use semi sweet chips, but I prefer milk chocolate)
  • 3 cups rice krispies cereal (for my fellow college students, the cheaper brands work fine as well)
  1. In a small saucepan melt the chocolate chips over low heat stirring constantly as to avoid burning. Once chocolate is smooth, shut off the heat and mix in the rice krispies until they are totally coated.
  2. Spread the chocolate covered rice krispies evenly overtop the frosting.
  3. Put into the refrigerator for at least an hour before cutting. I find that this makes their overall final appearance nicer, and it helps make the cutting easier.
Leave a Reply

