An Anniversary Fail

Mini s'mores brownies= less guilt??

When Nicholas and I reached our one year anniversary he said, “We can finally stop celebrating monthly.”

He was wrong. He was so, so wrong.

You see, I love to celebrate! Celebrations make me happy, and who does not like to be happy??

So today on our 14 month anniversary I wanted to do something special. I had it all planned out: A “simple” Pasta Carbonara dish for dinner, and S’mores Brownie Cups for dessert.

I should just throw it out here now: Although I have years of experience baking, cooking is like a foreign language to me. I was blessed to have parents who always cooked for my sister and I. This was all fine and dandy until I started living in my current apartment over four hours away from my family, leaving me to fend on my own. Refusing to give in to Ramen noodles and frozen dinners, I decided to learn how to cook. I joke and say that George Foreman is my other boyfriend and the Crockpot is my best friend.

So, although the recipe may seem simple to some, it was a humongous culinary challenge for me. I personally love challenges, and this would have been the perfect opportunity to impress my man. Unfortunately everything that could have went wrong, went wrong.

Instead of browning the bacon I burnt it, instead of tossing the eggs in I scrambled them. I forgot that the stove top was still hot and melted a plastic container. Needless to say, instead of having Pasta Carbonara for dinner, Nicholas settled for a Pita from Pita Pit.

Dessert, on the other hand, was phenomenal! Last week I had made s’mores brownies, but I found the portions to be too large. I like tiny snacks that I can pop right in my mouth, so this recipe seemed like the perfect solution! The brownie base is extremely rich (perfect for my sweet tooth!) and contains graham cracker crumbs. Topping it off with marshmallows and a graham cracker crumb garnish makes this a sweet s’mores treat.

The brownie cups were based off of a Brownie Cookie Recipe on Allrecipes.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1/3 cup baking cocoa
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (the equivalent of 7 graham crackers)
  • Roughly 60 mini marshmallows (two for each brownie cup…I made 30 with this batch)
  • An additional two graham crackers crushed (these crumbs will be used for the garnish)
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and grease a mini muffin tin (or add mini muffin liners!)
  2. In a large bowl cream together shortening, water, brown sugar, and vanilla extract. Beat in the eggs.  Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa. Gradually add the dry mixture into the wet mixture. Mix until just combined. Stir in the graham cracker crumbs and the chocolate chips.
  3. Fill each cup 2/3 full. Put into the oven for 7 minutes. After 7 minutes, take brownies out of the oven and quickly top each one with two mini marshmallows. Put back into the oven for an additional 2-3 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  4. After removing from the oven, sprinkle the tops of each brownie with graham cracker crumbs.
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 11:59:43

    My girlfriend always mentions the fact it’s our 31st monthly anniversary or whatever… I just nod and smile and say ‘oh yeah’… I refused to celebrate monthly in our first year, it’s just silly… These look yum.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Crockpot Loving and 3 Ingredient Pulled Pork Sandwiches « acollegebaker

Leave a Reply

