Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

FALL in love with these Autumn muffins

I know what you are probably thinking: two muffin posts in a row.

As a college student, muffins are an awesome way to quickly make “grab-and-go” breakfasts for the week.

However, between Nicholas, my roommate, and my lab-mates, these muffins are usually gone in a day. Hence why my breakfasts are typically eggo waffles or french toast sticks.

ANYWAYS…back to the topic at hand: these delicious pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. At first Nicholas (AKA the 6’2 human garbage disposal) was skeptical. You see, pumpkins aren’t a common indulgence for him. When Nicholas said that he wasn’t sure if he liked pumpkin, I knew that my next recipe HAD to include pumpkin as a main ingredient. Needless to say, four muffins later (AND after having pumpkin ravioli for dinner) I think Nicholas ruled in favor for pumpkins.

Nicholas, my taste-tester and human garbage disposal

Off topic again…I’ll stop my rambling. When I ate these muffins, I immediately felt like a mixture of heaven and autumn were in my mouth. This recipe is based off of the one on Allrecipes with some slight alterations.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3 teaspoons white sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Fill a muffin tin with paper liners.
  2. Combine sugar, oil, and eggs. Add pumpkin  and water. In a separate large bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, spices and salt. Add the wet mixture and stir in the chocolate chips**.
  3. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Sprinkle each muffin top with 1/4 teaspoon of sugar to add sweetness and give it a beautiful crisp top. Remove after 15-18 minutes, or whenever a toothpick inserted comes out clean. The tops should be firm and the edges should have a brown hue.
** before I mixed the chocolate chips into the batter, I ran them under water. This tends to help prevent them from sinking to the bottom of the muffins.
Leave a Reply

